Conference  •  Hotel  •  Schedule  •  ECExpo  •  ABET Workshop  •  Online Workshop  •  Sponsorship Opportunities

2014 ABET Workshop Schedule

ECEDHA hosts a separate workshop prior to the Annual Conference and ECExpo to assist universities in preparing for their upcoming ABET reviews.

Registration is separate and must be completed in advance for the conference. Participants are expected to bring the materials they have prepared thus far for discussion and evaluation. 

Mark Law  Mark Law
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Engineering
University of Florida

Mark Law is the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering at the University of Florida. He is professor and past-chair of Electrical & Computer Engineering. He received the B.S. Cpr.E. degree from Iowa State University in 1981, the M.S.E.E. from Stanford University in 1982, and the Ph.D. degree from Stanford University in 1988. He worked at Hewlett Packard from 1982 until 1985, and joined the faculty at Florida in 1988. He began his appointment as chair of Electrical & Computer Engineering in 2003 and moved to the dean’s office in 2009. His current research interests are in integrated circuit process and device modeling and characterization.  Dr. Law has written more than 200 papers in the area of process and device modeling and has advised 20 Ph.D. students. He has been involved in more than $20 million of funding during his career.

Stephen Phillips  Stephen M. Phillips
Professor and Director, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
Arizona State University
Past President, ECEDHA


Stephen M. Phillips received the BS degree in electrical engineering from Cornell University and the MS and PhD degrees in electrical engineering from Stanford University. From 1988 to 2002, he served on the faculty of Case Western Reserve University in the Departments of Electrical Engineering and Applied Physics; Systems, Control and Industrial Engineering; and subsequently Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. From 1995 to 2002, he also served as director of the Center for Automation and Intelligent System Research, an industry-university-government collaborative at Case. In 2002, he joined the faculty of Arizona State University as professor of electrical engineering and was appointed department chair in 2005. He currently leads the School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering. He is a professional engineer registered in the state of Ohio and serves as a program evaluator for ABETInc. His research interests are in the areas of modeling and implementation of microsystems, MEMS and control systems with applications including neural recording and stimulation, gas-turbine engines, prosthetics, defense and national security.

David Soldan
David Soldan
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Kansas State University

David L. Soldan is Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Kansas State University. He is currently the Chair of the IEEE Committee on Engineering Accreditation Activities.   He has served on the ABET Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) and the EAC Executive Committee.  He has conducted over 30 visits as a Team Chair or Program Evaluator.

He recently spent a sabbatical at the United States Naval Academy serving as the ONR Distinguished Chair for Science and Technology. He served as Head of the KSU ECE Department from 1989 to 2004.  Dr. Soldan is a Life Fellow of IEEE and a member of Eta Kappa Nu, Sigma Tau, Phi Kappa Phi, and ASEE.  He currently has a research project funded by the National Science Foundation focused on accelerating veterans degree completion. He served in the United States Air Force for four years.

Friday, March 21
7:00 am - 8:30 am                                          Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:30 am - 9:00 am Introductions and Opening Remarks
9:00 am - 9:30 am ABET Update
9:30 am - 9:45 am General Session
Criterion 2: Program Educational Objectives
9:45 am - 10:45 am  Break Out Groups
Program Educational Objectives
10:45 am - 11:00 am Break
11:00 am - 11:30 am General Session
Group Presentations on Program Educational Objectives
11:30 am - 12:00 pm General Session
Criterion 3: Student Outcomes
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Working Lunch - General Session
Criterion 4: Continuous Improvement
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm Break Out Groups
Criterion 4: Continuous Improvement
2:00 pm - 2:45 pm General Session
Group Presentations on Continuous Improvement
2:45 pm - 3:00 pm  Break
3:00 pm - 3:15 pm General Session
Criterion 5: Curriculum
3:15 pm - 3:45 pm Break Out Groups
Criterion 5: Curriculum
3:45 pm - 4:00 pm General Session
Group Presentations on Curriculum
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm General Session
APPM, Other Criteria, Issues and Solutions
6:30 pm ECEDHA Welcome Reception
7:30 pm Informal ABET Workshop Dinner
Not included in workshop fee
Details to be provided at the Workshop

Conference Sponsors
Conference Partner 


Platinum Partners 
 Texas Instruments
Diamond Partners
Analog Devices



Mentor graphics
National Instruments
Gold Partners
Lockheed Martin
 ECExpo Sponsor

 Texas Instruments

 Spotlight Sponsor
National Instruments
Online Education Workshop Sponsor
Monday Evening Awards Dinner 
Keynote Sponsor
General Session Sponsors
Lockheed Martin
Merchandise Sponsors
 CST of America