NSF/CISE Update | Overview of NSF Programs in Engineering and a Perspectove on CISE Community Touchpoints

Saturday, March 17
4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Engineers create the future, through new designs, new materials, new processes, and new ways to make things (manufacturing).  Engineering research is about understanding the fundamental behaviors of these novel designs, and developing methodologies that can speed up the creative processes.  Engineering researchers develop models and abstractions for physical, chemical, biological and cyber components – both natural and man-made -- to be able to put them together in novel combinations to create previously unimagined functionalities.  Engineering research covers the extremes, from the microscopic level of nanotechnology to the mega level global systems of civil and electrical infrastructure interacting with the environment. 

Engineering innovations are addressing significant societal problems, from increasing the reliability of the electric grid, to developing new methods to improve the productivity of agriculture.  We also foster significant partnerships with industry, through joint funding opportunities, collaborative research, entrepreneurial training, and even research grants to small businesses. The Engineering directorate also funds research in engineering education and programs in broadening participation, to introduce the exciting possibilities of engineering to the next generation of young innovators.

Download the Power Point Here


 Jim Kurose
 Assistant Director
 Directorate of Computer and Information Science and Engineering
 National Science Foundation

Dr. Jim Kurose is an Assistant Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), where he leads the Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE).   With an annual budget of more than $900 million, CISE’s mission is to uphold the nation's leadership in scientific discovery and engineering innovation through its support of fundamental research in computer and information science and engineering and transformative advances in cyberinfrastructure.

Dr. Kurose is on leave from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, where he is a Distinguished Professor in the College of Information and Computer Sciences.

Dr. Kurose received his Ph.D. in computer science from Columbia University and a BA degree in physics from Wesleyan University. He is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE).

   Dawn Tilbury
 Assistant Director
 National Science Foundation 

Dawn M. Tilbury received the B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering, summa cum laude, from the University of Minnesota in 1989, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1992 and 1994, respectively.  In 1995, she joined the Mechanical Engineering Department at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, where she is currently Professor, with a joint appointment as Professor of EECS. Her research interests lie broadly in the area of control systems, including applications to robotics and manufacturing systems.  She has published more than 150 articles in refereed journals and conference proceedings.  She was elected Fellow of the IEEE in 2008 and Fellow of the ASME in 2012, and is a Life Member of SWE.

She won the EDUCOM Medal (jointly with Professor William Messner) for her work on the web-based Control Tutorials for Matlab.  An updated version was recently re-issued at http://ctms.engin.umich.edu.  She is co-author (with Joseph Hellerstein, Yixin Diao, and Sujay Parekh) of the textbook Feedback Control of Computing Systems.  She received an NSF CAREER award in 1999, and is the 2001 recipient of the Donald P. Eckman Award of the American Automatic Control Council. She is the 2012 recipient of the SWE Distinguished Engineering Educator Award, and the 2014 recipient of the Michael J. Rabins Leadership Award from the ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division.

She was a member of the 2004-2005 class of the Defense Science Study Group (DSSG), and was a member of DARPA's Information Science and Technology Study Group (ISAT) from 2005–2008.   She has spent sabbatical leaves at the Institute for Industrial Technologies and Automation (ITIA-CNR) in Milan, Italy and the Department of Automatic Control in Lund, Sweden.  At the University of Michigan, she has taught courses in dynamic systems modeling, automatic control, robot kinematics and dynamics, and linear systems theory, and has advised more than 20 PhD students.

She was a member of the IEEE Control Systems Society Board of Governors from 2005–2008 and again from 2014–2016, and was a member of the ASME Dynamic Systems and Control Division Executive Committee from 2008–2013 (and was Chair of the Division from 2011–2012). She was Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering from 2008–2011, and has been a Senior Editor since 2012. She was Program Chair for the 2012 American Control Conference and General Chair for the 2014 ACC, and is currently the Chair of the Policy Committee for the International Federation of Automatic Control (IFAC).

 Conference Sponsors    
 Corporate Partner                                              
  Signature Sponsors                                         

 National Instruments




  Diamond Sponsors                                          








 Gold Sponsors                                                   








 ECExpo Sponsor                                            
 ECE Spotlight Sponsor                                     

National Instruments
 Latin America Delegation Sponsor                  

 National Instruments
 Hospitality Sponsors                                        


 Innovation Awards Program Sponsor             


 Merchandise Sponsors