iREDEFINE Workshop 

Saturday, March 17 
4:00 pm - 6:30 pm 

Sunday, March 18
1:30 pm - 5:30 pm

University Sponsors and NSF Winners 

iREDEFINE ECE (Improving the Diversity of Faculty in Electrical and Computer Engineering) aims at increasing the number of women and under-represented minorities (W-URM) in faculty positions at ECE departments. The project’s vision is to redefine the field of ECE by making it more diverse at the professorial level. As ECE is a major enabler in technological discovery, a more diverse educator pool will lead to new perspectives on technological innovation and how that serves society.

The project targets W_URM graduate students with the purpose of motivating them to pursue academic positions, and also providing them with tools to conduct a successful job search. It includes the iREDEFINE workshop, follow up mentoring sessions through teleconferences and surveys. The iREDEFINE workshop is held during the ECEDHA (ECE Department Heads Association) Annual Conference and Expo. ECEDHA maintains an active membership of nearly 300 chairs from across the United States and Canada. ECEDHA’s Annual Conference brings together prominent figures from academia, government, and industry to deliver presentations on emerging key technologies, the latest teaching innovations, and sessions addressing the most pressing issues facing ECE. The ECEDHA Annual Conference was deemed as a unique opportunity to bring together W-URM students and chairs, thus allowing chairs to get to know the pool of diverse students interested in academic positions, and giving the students an opportunity to network and receive comments and helpful hints on job searching.

The first iREDERFINE workshop was held with great success on March 17-18, as part of the 2017 in Miramar Beach, Florida. The 2018 iREDEFINE Workshop will be held as part of the 2018 ECEDHA conference and Expo, during March 15-16 in Monterey California. The application process will open in November 2017.

The project is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF), through a $100K grant awarded to Prof. Athina Petropulu. It is administered by a committee of ECE chairs and faculty.

Workshop participation details can be found on our iREDEFINE Project Page.

An article about the project:

A. Petropulu and S. Lord, ``Improving the Diversity of Faculty in Electrical and Computer Engineering (iREDEFINE ECE)," Proceedings of the IEEE, February 2018.

The article can also be found HERE

University Sponsors and NSF Winners 


 Athina P. Petropulu
 Distinguished Professor
 Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
 Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey

Athina P. Petropulu received her undergraduate degree from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece, and the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from Northeastern University, Boston MA, all in Electrical and Computer Engineering. She is Distinguished Professor at the Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Department at Rutgers, having served as chair of the department during 2010-2016.  Before joining Rutgers in 2010, she was faculty at Drexel University. She held Visiting Scholar appointments at SUPELEC, Universite’ Paris Sud, Princeton University and University of Southern California. Dr. Petropulu's research interests span the area of statistical signal processing, wireless communications, signal processing in networking, physical layer security, and radar signal processing. Her research has been funded by various government industry sponsors including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Office of Naval research, the US Army, the National Institute of Health, the Whitaker Foundation, Lockheed Martin and Raytheon.

Dr. Petropulu is Fellow of IEEE and recipient of the 1995 Presidential Faculty Fellow Award given by NSF and the White House. She has served as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing (2009-2011), IEEE Signal Processing Society Vice President-Conferences (2006-2008), and is currently member-at-large of the IEEE Signal Processing Board of Governors. She was the General Chair of the 2005 International Conference on Acoustics Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP-05), Philadelphia PA, and is General Co-Chair of the 2018 IEEE International Workshop on Signal Processing Advances in Wireless Communications (SPAWC), to be held in Kalamata Greece in June 2018. She is recipient of the 2005 IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Paper Award, and the 2012 IEEE Signal Processing Society Meritorious Service Award for "exemplary service in technical leadership capacities". She is IEEE Distinguished Lecturer for the Signal Processing Society for 2017-2018.

More info on her work can be found at



Saturday, March 17
4:15 pm - 4:30 pm                               Opening Remarks
     Athina Petropulu, Distinguished Professor, ECE Rutgers   University
4:30 pm - 5:00 pm New Teaching Methods
     John Booske, Duane H. and Dorothy M. Bluemke Professor, Vilas   Distinguished Achievement Professor, University of Wisconsin,   Madison
5:00 pm - 5:45 pm
 Panel: The Perspective of Junior Diversity Faculty in an ECE Department
     Eve A. Riskin, Professor of Electrical Engineering, Associate Dean of Diversity and Access, College of Engineering, University of Washington
     Sara Abrahamsson, Assistant Professor, EE, UC Santa Cruz
     Piya Pal, Assistant Professor, ECE, UC San Diego
5:45 pm - 6:30 pm Panel: Different Types of Schools
     Jeff Bokor, Paul R. Gray Distinguished Professor of   Engineering,   EECS UC,   Berkeley
     Susan Lord, Chair of General Engineering, Professor of General   Engineering and   EE University of San Diego
     Agnieszka Miguel, Professor and Dept. Chair, ECE, Seattle University
     Miguel Velez-Reyes, Professor and Chair, ECE, University of Texas,   El Paso
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm Reception - Poster Session
Sunday, March 18
12:00 pm - 12:30 pm Plenary Talk - Don't Interrupt This Talk! Gender Difference in INterruptions of Academic Engineering Job Talks
     Pamela Cosman, Professor of ECE, UC San Diego
12:30 pm - 1:30 pm Luncheon - Poster Session
1:30 pm - 4:30 pm Course on Basic Negotiations
     C.K. Gunsalus, C.K. Gunsalus & Associates Consulting
4:30 pm - 5:00 pm Funding - What Makes a Successful Proposal
     Paige E. Smith, program Director, Directorate for Engineering (ENG), Engineering Education and Centers (EEC), National Science Foundation
5:00 pm - 5:30 pm Q&A - Panel with iREDEFINE Committee Members
     Pamela Cosman, Professor of ECE, UC San Diego
     Susan Lord, Chair of General Engineering, Professor of General   Engineering and   EE University of San Diego
     Athina Petropulu, Distinguished Professor, ECE Rutgers   University

 Conference Sponsors    
 Corporate Partner                                              
  Signature Sponsors                                         

 National Instruments




  Diamond Sponsors                                          








 Gold Sponsors                                                   








 ECExpo Sponsor                                            
 ECE Spotlight Sponsor                                     

National Instruments
 Latin America Delegation Sponsor                  

 National Instruments
 Hospitality Sponsors                                        


 Innovation Awards Program Sponsor             


 Merchandise Sponsors